Civil War Interactive Discussion Board Home
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

Greetings - Introductions - About this Forum - Start Here - Civil War Interactive Discussion Board
 Moderated by: javal1
 New Topic   Reply   Printer Friendly 
 Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: Fri May 12th, 2006 09:43 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
1st Post
wanderson

Mana: 

Hello.  I am new to the disussion board, but have been enjoying the web site for several months.  You are a knowledgeable lot!  My great, great, ever-so-great uncle served in the 7th Iowa Infantry (Vol.).   A different (living!) uncle and I are both Civil War buffs and have enjoyed visiting Shiloh, Vicksburg, Chickamauga and surrounding areas.

I would appreciate some book recommendations, particularly regarding Grant's experience between the surrender of Vicksburg and Chattanooga.  Any recommendations on the Atlanta campaign?

Many thanks.

Posted: Tue May 23rd, 2006 01:56 am
   PM  Quote  Reply 
2nd Post
Kent Nielsen

Mana: 

Hi Wanderson and welcome to the board. :)If U can give me a few days I'll try to give you a list. Hopefully some of the others who are more knowledgeable then me  will too.

Posted: Tue May 23rd, 2006 03:00 am
   PM  Quote  Reply 
3rd Post
wanderson

Mana: 

Thank you very much, Kent.  I look forward to your recommendations!

wanderson

Posted: Fri May 26th, 2006 02:37 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
4th Post
David White

Mana: 

Wanderson:

Welcome.  For Grant during the period you requested I always like an oldie but goodie in Bruce Catton's "Grant Takes Command."  It starts with the period you want but continues to the end of the war.

As to the Atlanta Campaign it is hard to beat Albert Castel's "Decision in the West." 

Posted: Tue May 30th, 2006 04:09 am
   PM  Quote  Reply 
5th Post
wanderson

Mana: 

Thank you very much, Mr. White.  I will follow your recommendations.  I've enjoyed Catton's A Stillness at Appomattox several times.

Happy Memorial Day to you.

Wanderson