Civil War Interactive Discussion Board Home
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

Howdy from NoVa - Introductions - About this Forum - Start Here - Civil War Interactive Discussion Board
 Moderated by: javal1 Page:    1  2  Next Page Last Page  
 New Topic   Reply   Printer Friendly 
 Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: Tue Nov 7th, 2006 12:39 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
1st Post
Widow

Mana: 

Howdy from Northern Virginia, everybody.  I'm Patty Wheeler, and I'm new to this discussion board.  Sure am glad to visit with other folks interested in the Civil War, both here and in Shotgun's chatroom.

Although I've lived in Fairfax County (suburb of Washington, DC) for more than 40 years, I'd never paid attention to the Civil War history here.  Until August 2005, when I attended a living-history event at a county park.  There were uniformed reenactors as infantry, artillery, and even four cavalrymen.  Some civilians also in period clothing.

I got hooked, lined, and sinkered, right then and there.  Wow, what have I been missing?  Since then, I've bankrupted myself by buying books and traveling to battlefields.  I can't get enough, and I'll never get all of it.

I live 15 miles from the Manassas National Battlefield Park, and within easy driving distance of Antietam, Gettysburg, Fredericksburg, Richmond, Petersburg, Harpers Ferry, and of course the Shenandoah Valley.

I've joined two round tables and several other groups, mostly so I can receive the newsletters and learn of upcoming programs and tours.  I'm active in the Bull Run RT, which meets in Centreville.

As far as I know, none of my ancestors fought in the war.  There is no information on Mom's side.  Dad's ancestors were homesteaders in Nebraska Territory during the war.  I have no information about my husband's family either, except that they lived in Illinois.  I figure that if any of our ancestors had been in the war, there would have been family stories.