View single post by susansweet
 Posted: Tue Jan 15th, 2008 10:00 pm
 PM  Quote  Reply  Full Topic 
susansweet

Mana: 

The moral comes first. All the other book-learning comes second. Without the basics, the best teacher ever becomes helpless. And the basics are learned at home.

ole

As a teacher who taught for 34 years I agree with this totally.  I had the kids from 9 to 3 basically five days a week for nine months not including days off for holidays .  In that time I was supose to take care of all their needs.  I taught in the inner city, I taught in the surburbs .  I taught all kinds of children.  I was a primary teacher.  The teacher that starts the kids on their journey though education. 

I hear all the time about what we didn't teach.  I had the kids seven hours and twenty minutes .  In that time I taught Reading Writing , Spelling , Math, Language arts , Science Social Studies, Art and Music  or and P.E.  All of these scheduled in and around assemblies, pta events, jog a thons, earthquake drills, firedrills, lice checks, dental checks , vision and hearing screening , testing , reading buddies.  Add to that the  disruptive kid that needs to be taken care of before he or she causes more problems.  I have taught holding a child in my lap to keep him from beating up one of the other kindergarteners in my class (inner city school. child's mother was dying and he didn't understand what was going on). I taught with another child who would have emotional out brust on a pretty daily basis as mother was bedridden having her fifth child and this young one was pretty much ignored at home.  She too didn't know what was going on.  This was a really good family , an oops pregancy and a father on overload trying to be all to his four girls.  I would have to calm this little one down before I could teach the others